Horns

Horns

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
36
5
3
 …
Ig awakens one morning with horns growing out of his head and sets out to seek revenge for his girlfriend's murder and the fact that everyone believes that he was responsible.
Publisher: New York : Morrow, c2010.
ISBN: 9780061147951
Characteristics: 370 p. ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
r
RueK
Aug 14, 2020

The book has good premise. The idea, the plot, that sort of thing. A decent, watchable movie was made out of it. However, I was struggling with the last 150 pages. Seemed redundant and just dragged on in predictability. Perhaps it'd be better suited to a quicker format like a comic book since all the visuals are there, very much like a comic strip story board.

I wanted to relate this type of story to The Crow, since it's like a murder revenge love story for those who are familiar. And the hero of the story, literally going through hell and back to reveal all the injustices done. A familiar kind of allegory you could say? all-gory? ha.

Unfortunately, the story telling runs dry maybe 3/4 of the way through with flashbacks and retelling of the same story but through the different perspectives of the characters. Very repetitious and as I said, redundant.

Since I saw the movie before reading the book, it was amusing to have Daniel Radcliffe in my mind as Ig throughout the whole thing. He really really fits the character.

m
Mullon
Aug 01, 2020

The problem with this book is that the most interesting part of the story is largely irrelevant. Ig grows a pair of horns that force people to tell him their darkest secrets and make them susceptible to mind control, and he decides to use them to get revenge on the guy who raped and murdered his girlfriend. The first act is the most entertaining in a lurid tabloid way, with Ig accidentally learning his family's horrid secrets up until he finds out who the murderer is at the end of the first act. But if Ig found out who committed the murder through mundane means the book would largely remain unchanged except for the beginning and the end. This is partly because the story has three long flashbacks to Ig and the girlfriend's past, the murderer's past, and Igs brother's past, none of which have any supernatural elements, and partly because what little time is spent in the present day is just Ig flailing about the town. The horns, which is what the story should have been about, are largely a plot convenience to a tragic but unremarkable love-triangle. It's not all bad though, since the parts of the story that focus on the horns are entertaining, and the writing is easy to read without sounding dumb unrealistic. It's just that by the halfway point I felt like I had been tricked by a good premise into reading something mundane.

b
Bugzysmom
Jul 25, 2020

As a Long time fan of Sai King I was amazed to learn the the stellar show Nos4era2 was written by Joe Hill. Then I found out he was Stephen King's son I was HAPPY. I have not enjoyed Sai King's latest work, much bigger fan of his earlier work... So I have started to read Joe Hill while waiting for a copy of Nos4era2. 1st read was Horns !!! LOVED this book. Tore thru it in less than a day, the same way I used to devour Stephen King's books when I got them. Highly recommend Horns, it is a riot of a read, tragic, funny and another look at how we feel about Lucifer Morningstar :)

k
ksea14
May 21, 2020

I read about half of this then wanted to see what people thought about it so I read some goodreads reviews, positive and negative, and it made me really start thinking about the book. Basically what stuck with me was the sentiment that it's a really interesting fantasy story and a really compelling tragedy, but the two don't mesh well together and belonged as separate books and I kind of think that's true. And what really annoyed me through the whole thing was that this guy is growing horns and people are telling him their sins: it's pretty clear that there's some Christian metaphor going on, without any more information than what's on the back cover, so I don't need to be reminded of it every five seconds. Like half the book is Joe Hill spelling it out extremely clearly that Ig is the devil. Wow, how poignant. It just would've been more effective if he let the content speak for itself because it really would've been a better story with some subtlety.

That said, I did think kind of enjoy it and I really think I would've loved it if it had been done in a way that was a little less sanctimonious. Also, the main conflict never gets fully resolved, which left a bad taste in my mouth that makes me feel worse about this than it probably deserves. It was fine.

s
smatte
Dec 30, 2019

The trajectory of Joe Hill's career thus far is amazing: after an acclaimed collection of short stories, a well-received debut novel (Heart Shaped Box), and various comics to his credit, people started to find out that he was Stephen King's son. A quick glance at an author photo would be enough to make most King fans do a double-take. Horns came along at this point and while some readers may consider it a bit of a sophomore slump, I think it is a well-crafted, brilliantly-paced piece of dark fantasy with plenty of the horror the author's family is known for. Equal parts campy and heart-wrenching, the balance of mood and atmosphere made this book a perfect reading experience for me; I flew through it in less than a week. The non-linear timeline would become jumbled in the hands of a lesser author, but it really adds to the pacing of Horns, offering up tidbits of information from various periods in the characters' lives that really keep the pages turning. Recommended for fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, and anyone who likes a hint of arthouse styling in their B-movies.

JessicaGma Oct 17, 2019

I wanted to read this for a long time, but was underwhelmed by the story. The concept is top notch - who hasn't always wanted revenge? It was tough to root for the characters, because even Ig was a little lost. I enjoyed NOS4A2 much more.

KHCPL_Wagner Oct 17, 2019

This body horror novel features mutation.

s
shansen91
Jul 17, 2019

I woke up way too early one day and couldn’t fall asleep. I decided to pick a book on a whim from our shelf and wound up with HORNS. This book was compelling enough to have me finish it in one sitting!

JCLAndrewE Jun 18, 2018

Hands down one of my favorite books. It deeply affected me, and it's tragically beautiful story has stayed with me years after reading it. The premise is a little out there, but it works wonderfully. ***Do yourself a favor, and don't translate the Morse Code on the front and back covers because MAJOR SPOILERS.

m
Marti500
Dec 26, 2017

I really enjoyed this book. It had a little different concept and wasn't just the same, tired storyline.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
n
nearlier
Aug 13, 2015

nearlier thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Remi666 May 14, 2013

Remi666 thinks this title is suitable for 22 years and over

i
iantonia
Dec 30, 2012

iantonia thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

c
cmills10
Apr 03, 2011

cmills10 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

h
HelloWorld77
May 17, 2010

HelloWorld77 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Notices

Add Notices
c
cmills10
Apr 03, 2011

Violence: Murder, blood, smashed skull, rape, drowning, death, killing, youth pranks, dangerous horseplay, dangerous stunts

c
cmills10
Apr 03, 2011

Sexual Content: Teen sex, rape, sex, falashio

c
cmills10
Apr 03, 2011

Coarse Language: Shit, fuck, slut, whore

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SDG

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top