Spoiler Alert

Spoiler Alert

A Novel

Book - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
Marcus Caster-Rupp has a secret. The world may know him as Aeneas, star of the biggest show on television, but fanfiction readers call him something else: Book!AeneasWouldNever. Marcus gets out his frustrations with the show through anonymous stories about the internet's favorite couple, Aeneas and Lavinia. But if anyone discovered his online persona, he'd be finished in Hollywood. April Whittier has secrets of her own. A hardcore Lavinia fan, she's long hidden her fanfic and cosplay hobbies from her "real life"--but not anymore. When she dares to post her latest costume creation on Twitter, her plus-size take goes viral. And when Marcus asks her out to spite her internet critics, truth officially becomes stranger than fanfiction. On their date, Marcus quickly realizes he wants more from April than a one-time publicity stunt. But when he discovers she's Unapologetic Lavinia Stan, his closest fandom friend, he has one more huge secret to keep from her. With love and Marcus's career on the line, can the two of them stop hiding once and for all, or will a match made in fandom end up prematurely cancelled?
Publisher: New York, NY : Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2020]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780063005549
Characteristics: 409 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
samcmar17
Feb 16, 2021

I thought this book was super cute and I loved how it touches upon fan culture. There's a lot of body positivity in this story, and I really loved April's growth in the story. Very cute and definitely for fans of "Get A Life, Chloe Brown." There's also a good amount of steaminess here, so be forward if you don't want the steam in your romance!

p
plattsla
Jan 21, 2021

A romance story that will appeal to standard romance lovers as well comic-con goers. More than just your typical romance fluff this book deals with sensitive issues such as fat-shaming, dyslexia, self-acceptance and more.

t
The_Zookeeper
Jan 10, 2021

Such a sweet story. There are so many Game of Thrones references in the first chapter that I was laughing all the way through it. I loved the characters and the writing and will have to read the sequel when it comes out.

l
labraden
Jan 10, 2021

Marcus Caster-Rupp is the star of one of the biggest shows on television, Gods of the Gates, similar to Game of Thrones. As with many such shows, there is popular fan fiction written about the show that has spawned its own community. Unbeknownst to anyone, Marcus has started anonymously writing his own fan fiction on the site in an attempt to "fix" what he considers to be poor choices made in the scripts provided by the showrunners. When someone insults April Whittier on Twitter when she posts a picture of herself in her cosplay outfit, Marcus publicly arranges a date with her. Little does he know that April is actually his friend from the fanfic site. Their relationship flourishes, but Marcus is afraid to tell her who he really is.

Spoiler Alert tackles many timely issues including fatshaming and misconceptions about dyslexia in this tale about self-image and acceptance. April is a very believable, no nonsense woman who is just coming into her own. Marcus, however, as an actor, is a tough sell. After starring on one of the most popular shows on television for several years, he has no entourage and can seemingly do pretty much whatever he wants without being accosted in public. His self-awareness is a little hard to accept in today's shallow world of entertainment. Overall, however, this is a romance with much more depth than might be expected in a story of this type and is well worth the read.

m
mebacher
Dec 30, 2020

OTP. UST. Cosplay. AO3. A Manic Pixie Dream Boy. And, dare I say it, PWP. If you understand and love all of these references, this book is for you! (If not, you might want to research the above before diving in.) Spoiler Alert has everything a shipper could ask for--all the tropes, neatly tied up plot points, and fabulous pacing. A genuinely satisfying read!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SDG

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top