Stolen Songbird

Stolen Songbird

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
Trolls are said to love gold. They are said to live underground and hate humans, perhaps even eat them. They are said to be evil. When Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and sold to the trolls, she finds out that there is truth in the rumors, but there is also so much more to trolls than she could have imagined. Cécile has only one thing on her mind after she is brought to Trollus, the city she hadn't even known existed under Forsaken Mountain: escape. But the trolls are inhumanly strong. And fast. She will have to bide her time, wait for the perfect opportunity. But something strange happens while she's waiting--she begins to fall in love with the handsome, thoughtful troll prince that she has been bonded and married to. She begins to make friends. And she begins to see that she may be the only hope for the half-bloods--part troll/part human creatures who are slaves to the full-blooded trolls. There is a rebellion brewing. And her prince, Tristan, the future king, is its secret leader.
Publisher: Nottingham, UK : Strange Chemistry, 2014.
ISBN: 9781908844972
Branch Call Number: E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource (472 pages)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
Cierra_Jade
May 11, 2021

“To be bound is a burden, but it is the actions we freely take that cause us the most pain.”

Wow, would you just look at that cover! Amazing! Stolen Songbird reminded me of Beauty and the Beast but put a spin on trolls I had never heard of before and an ending that will leave readers begging for more! It’s refreshing to finally read something unexpected. I mean, trolls? What a welcome change, especially with the split POV between Cécile and Tristan, though I would’ve liked more than six (I counted) measly chapters from his point of view.

The story seems to be set somewhere in the French country-side in the olden days and is riddled with magic and bravery. Cécile, a farmer’s daughter, wants to become a famous singer and has no idea of what lurks underneath the mountain near her home. Before her big city dreams have a chance to begin, the seventeen year old is kidnapped and sold to the trolls in hopes of breaking a centuries old curse.

However, nothing in Trollus is as it seems. Not the royalty roaming the palace halls, the half-blood servants wandering the streets, and especially not her new husband, Prince Tristan. Their forced marriage brought loathing-at-first-sight that eventually develops into something much more. With new friends, new enemies, magic and mayhem, this Stolen Songbird will have to decide just how much she’s willing to risk to break free of her cage.

r
RebelBelle13
Jan 26, 2019

This took me much longer to finish than it really should have. It started off with a bang- with Cecile being captured and the story flung into high gear in the first chapter. Her descent into Trollus built the suspense, and it moved at quick pace... until she and Tristan were bonded. Then the plot screeched to a halt, with 300 pages of Cecile waffling between wanting to stay and wanting to escape the underground Troll city. At least the insta-love is explained by the bonding- but Tristan's 180 spin from enemy to sweetheart happened way too quickly for me- almost on a page turn. Hate-to-love and Beauty and the Beast re-tellings are one of my favorite story tropes; but I don't believe it was done well here. The soul-bonding and sharing of thoughts and emotions is cliche at this point, although some find it familiar and endearing. Although, at no point is Cecile a flailing, broken person. She always fights back and holds her own, and doesn't end up making as many mistakes or having the miscommunication that is rife among YA protagonists these days. It was entertaining and different enough that I would consider reading the next in the series, but it's not the next YA hit.

Melissa_RA_Librarian Jun 16, 2017

Cécile is kidnapped and sold to the trolls who have been trapped under the mountain for over 500 years. They marry her to their prince in hopes that she will be the one to break the witch's curse and free them for good.

This was a wonderful and well developed fantasy. It was a little slow in the beginning, and the pacing was a bit odd for me, but the story was so magical that I loved reading it. Cécile is a wonderful and well developed character. She longs to escape, but as she gets to know the trolls more she begins to sympathize with their plight, and longs to help the less fortunate among them.

I just wish it wasn't a series. I am starting to miss stand alone novels.

MedinaReads Mar 25, 2015

Stolen Songbird is a breathtakingly imaginative tale. Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped on her way home from the market and taken to a city she never believed existed- a city of trolls trapped beneath the mountain. The trolls believe that her marriage to the Crown Prince, Tristan, will break the curse set upon them and they will finally be free to roam the earth again. At first, Cécile thinks only of escape, but the more time she spends learning about the culture of Trollus and the unfair treatments of the half human half troll slaves, the more she learns about herself and embraces her new role. And it turns out that her new husband may not exactly be what she thinks he is. This book is fast paced and fascinating, a unique reimagining of the classic Beauty and the Beast tale. Readers who loved Seraphina and Graceling are sure to fall for this world and its characters as well. First in a planned trilogy. Recommended by S.A., Brunswick Library, MCDL

n
nidofito
Dec 09, 2014

The book is essentially a historical romance with fantasy mixed in using a good bit of contemporary phrases and comments. Tristan acts like a wannabe rake (but w/o the string of love affairs) with a sensitive heart and Cecile is the feisty common girl he has fallen in love with.

I liked the book because the entire troll lore (the history, the politics etc.) is amazing. There is A LOT of stuff that needs to be explained and as we've barely scratched the surface behind the mystery of The Fall it can only get better.

e
emilyswartzer
May 14, 2014

Okay, kcram02, you make it sound totally weird, which it is not. It's actually a very good book, and not completely about trolls. I loved it and can't wait for the sequel!

k
kcram02
May 13, 2014

This is a good book about trolls!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at SDG.

Try searching for Stolen Songbird to see if SDG owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top